Track Magazine
1999 Cross Country COACH OF THE YEAR

Boys AND girls programs:
Dennis McClanahan, Mt. Carmel.
His teams had the best balance of top quality, with his boys team taking the CIF Division I title, and his girls teams being ranked as high as second in the state in regular season.

Don Jones, Rancho Bernardo.
His girls team took the CIF Division I title, and finished second in the state. His boys team competed in the ultra-tough Palomar League, but ended up being ranked in the top ten locally.

Second runner-up:
Dave Wilson, Ramona.
His boys were second in the CIF Division II race, and his girls were third in the CIF Division II final, missing a trip to state by one point.

(no particular order)

Dan Schaitel, Poway
Bill Stout, Calvin Christian
Pete Brooks, Vista
Keith VanAsdalan, Carlsbad
Bob Oliver, Scripps Ranch
Tim Latham, Sweetwater
Dave Yarbrough, Granite Hills
Jim McCarthy, University City
Mike Cummings, Valley Center
Art Johnson, Chula Vista
Marty Hauck, Fallbrook
Brent Thorne, Torrey Pines
Wendy Svatek, Bishop's
Dan Geiger, University of San Diego
Art Anderson, Crawford

Boys only:

Winners: Chuck Boyer and Joe League, La Jolla

Jerry Downey, St. Augustine.
Pat Connolly, West Hills
Ed Ramos, San Diego
Steve Markland, Point Loma
Ben Holt, Mar Vista

Girls only:

Winner: Tom Dorman, La Jolla

Bill Cleves, West Hills
Dan Keays, Academy of Our Lady of Peace
Rob Barnett, Point Loma
Marcia Larson-Thiss, Valhalla
Ray Mounts, Helix

Back to 1999 Cross Country Archives
Back to Track Magazine Home Page